Brake honours safety conscious companies at inaugural Fleet Safety Awards

Companies have been honoured for working hard to reduce road crashes involving at-work drivers during Brake's inaugural Australasian Fleet Safety Awards.

The winners were announced at Brake's annual reception for supporters held yesterday (Thursday 1 October) in Auckland. The awards, sponsored by SurePlan, Suzuki and Telogis, recognise companies and individuals who have implemented successful initiatives, products or services to tackle fleet safety. The reception, kindly hosted by Meredith Connell, was attended by Brake supporters and award finalists.

There were five categories of awards, including two individual awards. The Road Risk Manager Award went to Jenny Seddon, Business Services Manager at Plunket, and the prestigious Outstanding Commitment to Road Safety Award went to Jim Wiles of NZI Lumley. More details below.

The 2015 Fleet Safety Award winners are:

  • Company Driver Safety Award, sponsored by SurePlan:
  • Safe Vehicles Award, sponsored by Telogis:
  • Fleet Safety Product Award:
  • Road Risk Manager of the Year Award, sponsored by Suzuki:
    Jenny Seddon (Plunket)
  • Outstanding Commitment to Road Safety Award:
    Jim Wiles (NZI Lumley)

Spotlight on: Outstanding Commitment Award winner
This year's award for outstanding commitment to road safety went to Jim Wiles, who has shared his passion for fleet safety for a number of years. Starting out as a traffic officer for the Ministry of Transport, Jim later became managing director of a driver training organisation, and then moved into fleet risk management with Lumley. He developed the training programme for civilian driver licence examiners and driver testing in New Zealand. His involvement with the industry is far-reaching as he is also involved in a number of transport industry associations including the Chartered Institute of Logistics and Transport and the Road Transport Association. He is a dedicated advocate of fleet safety and always speaks passionately on road safety issues.

More information on the awards, including photographs can be obtained from Caroline Perry at Brake by emailing This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..

Caroline Perry, Brake's NZ Director, says: "We are delighted to celebrate the great achievements of companies and individuals who are striving to make a real difference in the world of fleet safety. Congratulations to all the award winners and highly commended entrants for their impressive work over the past year."

Gordon Brown, chief executive at SurePlan, says: "SurePlan is proud to sponsor the Company Driver Safety Award and would like to congratulate this year's winner for their fantastic achievements. Road safety is vital to everyone, so it is heartening to see companies like this working to create safer drivers."

Steve West, AM Fleet Manager at Suzuki, says: "Suzuki is proud to support the Road Risk Manager Award and we congratulate Jenny on her dedication to the role and commitment to road safety."

Jim McKinlay, General Manager Asia-Pacific at Telogis, says: "Telogis is dedicated to enhancing the value of its customers' businesses through intelligent integration of location technology, information and services. We are committed to road safety and therefore delighted to support the Fleet Safety Awards. We would like to extend our congratulations to this year's winners and their achievements in this area."

For more information on the awards can be found at Details of how to enter the 2016 awards will be released at the end of 2015.

Sign up to get our email bulletins



Like us on Facebook


Follow us

Facebook logo YouTube logo Linked In logo Twitter logo

our gold partnersNeuron logoFR. Logo Landscape Clear Bg202001 Beca Logo New BLK no backgroundFulton HoganWaka Kotahi RGB 1